NMP Scheme, Still Here

The Nominated MP not elected MP, is another insult to the evolution of democracy in Singapore. Why are some of these people, esteemed no doubt, stellar clearly, passionate surely allowed to speak for us in parliament? They are not voted in. They did not stand for elections. Do NMPs improve the quality of debate, yes to an extent, but so what.  Parliament, with its NCMP and NMP, is a shoddy one with people inside who are not elected. What next, Short Term MPs for those who want to serve only one term, Special MPs who are not elected by sit on certain committees? All for the purpose of improving the debate, giving neutrality or compensating for the lack of real opposition elected MPs in parliament.  The scheme undermines the integrity of elected representatives in parliament  and the purist idea of the legislative.

It has been 21 years since the NMP was introduced. It’s time to kick them out of the house.


Public invited to submit names for NMPs
Submissions can be made at the Parliament House and the closing date for submissions will close on Dec 8.
Wed, Nov 02, 2011

SINGAPORE – The Parliament of Singapore is calling for the general public to make nominations for Nomination Members of Parliament (NMP).

Potential nominees should have rendered distinguished public service or brought honour to the Republic.

They could also have distinguished themselves in the field of arts and letters, sports, culture, the sciences, business, industry, the professions, social or community service or the labour movement.

Candidates should also be citizens of Singapore, of the age of 21 years or above on the day of nomination and currently on the register of electors.

They should be residents in Singapore at the date of nomination and have been residents for not less than 10 years prior to that date.

The public should nominate people who have the capability to take an active part in the proceedings of Parliament and can speak, read and write – unless incapacitated by blindness or other physical cause – at least English, Malay, Mandarin or Tamil.

Organisations that wish to nominate members for selection should submit their names to the coordinators of the respective functional groups they fall under.

They are: Mr Tony Chew (business and industry), Mr John De Payva (labour), Professor Tan Kok Chai (professions), Ms Ang Bee Lian (social service organisations), Mr Yam Ah Mee (civic and people sector), Professor Tan Chorh Chuan (tertiary educational institutions) and Mr Edmund Cheng (media, arts and sports organisations).

Submissions can be made at the Parliament House located at 1 Parliament Place, Singapore 178880.

The closing date for submission of names is December 8, 2011 at 4.30 pm.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: